Aiolum Browse stories
All tools
AI models · 5 of 252 stories

Grok

A family of AI language models and a chatbot: people chat with Grok in apps, and programs send prompts to the Grok models through an API.

What Grok is

Written from its maker's own pages, read on 28 October 2026.

Grok is an AI assistant and a family of large language models, which are neural networks trained on large amounts of text to understand and generate language. It is made by SpaceX Super Intelligence LLC (SpaceXSI) at x.ai; older milestones on the company page use the name xAI.

People use Grok as a chatbot on the web at grok.com, in iOS and Android apps and on X. It answers with step-by-step reasoning, searches the web and X live with citations, writes and explains code, analyzes files and images, holds voice conversations and generates images and short videos. Developers reach the same models through the API: a program sends a prompt to api.x.ai and receives the model's answer. The API works with existing SDKs, including OpenAI's client library, and also offers voice, image and video models, function calling and web search.

The chatbot is free to try, with a paid SuperGrok subscription for higher limits. The API is billed by usage, per million tokens (a token is a piece of a word), with prepaid credits or enterprise invoicing.

Made by
SpaceX Super Intelligence LLC (SpaceXSI, formerly shown as xAI)
Price
API, pay per use: US$2.00 per million input tokens and US$6.00 per million output tokens for grok-4.7 (read 28 October 2026)
Free plan
chatbot free to try; API billed per token

Who uses it, and for what

One row per story. The grade is for the claim that the business uses this tool, not for its revenue.

StoryWhat it does thereWhenCost statedGradeSource
MausBotOne of the agent engines that each bot runs through, on the customer's own login. grok CLI from xAIBGitHub: milind-soni/OpenMausBot, README and repository data
Rank PromptOne of six AI engines that receive the customers' prompts; the product reads each answer for brand mentions and cited sources. xAI; access method not statedCRank Prompt home page
AI ToolboxHost for the Grok module on grok.com and x.com; the user's own X account supplies the AI.since 2026CAI Toolbox Terms of Service, last updated 1 October 2026
GenAIPITests business plans against what people say on X, and did the same research as ChatGPT on search visibility.CMixergy, 23 April 2026: "I make $4.5 million implementing AI", interview with Jon Cheney by Andrew Warner, with full transcript
PromptmonitorOne of the AI models that receive the customers' prompts; the product records each answer for brand mentions, position, sentiment and cited sources. xAI; access method not statedCPromptmonitor home page, Wayback Machine copy of 8 July 2025

Grade A: the tool's maker or a payment processor confirms the use. Grade B: an independent report, or the tool is visible in public code. Grade C: the founder or the company says so.

Used in the same businesses

Other tools in the stories above, with the number of stories that share both.

Other tools for the same job

AI models, with the number of stories that use each.

Back to all tools