Aiolum Browse stories
All tools
Building the product · 27 of 252 stories

ChatGPT

An AI chat assistant from OpenAI: a person types a question or a task, and it answers with text, code, images or data analysis.

What ChatGPT is

Written from its maker's own pages, read on 13 October 2026.

ChatGPT is an AI assistant made by OpenAI. It runs on large language models: neural networks trained on very large amounts of text, which produce text in reply to a request. A person writes a request in plain language, and ChatGPT answers in a conversation that can continue with follow-up questions.

The app has three parts. Chat answers questions, explains concepts, drafts and edits writing, searches the web and generates images. Work connects to files and apps such as Gmail and Slack, and creates documents, slide decks, spreadsheets, charts and PDFs. Codex is a coding agent that helps plan, write, test and review code. A voice mode allows a spoken conversation in real time. ChatGPT runs in a web browser, in mobile apps and in desktop apps for macOS and Windows. Its answers can be wrong at times, so important facts need checking.

ChatGPT is free to use with limits. Paid subscriptions for individuals (Go, Plus and Pro) add more use and features, and Business and Enterprise plans serve companies. OpenAI says it does not train its models on content from its business plans.

Made by
OpenAI
Price
From US$8 a month for the Go plan in the USA; the Plus plan is US$20 a month (read 13 October 2026)
Free plan
yes, limited

Who uses it, and for what

One row per story. The grade is for the claim that the business uses this tool, not for its revenue.

StoryWhat it does thereWhenCost statedGradeSource
Wave AIWrote the first Swift code in small parts, so the founder could build the app without other engineers.since 2023BAdapty case study: Wave AI, growing an indie app from $0 to $4M ARR with Adapty (published 29 July 2024, later changed; archived 10 November 2024)
Wrestle AIThe founder pasted error logs into it to fix problems while building the app in Rork.BRork blog, 25 February 2026: 18yo Made $131K in 6 Months with Rork
3AK Track & FieldThe founders used it to debug problems while they built the app in Rork.BRork blog, 9 March 2026: Two college athletes are making $19K/mo with an app they built in Rork
IntentPostMade the share image of the About and pricing pages on 6 September 2025, by the image file name in the page source. image generationsince September 2025BIntentPost pricing page, read 25 October 2026
TalknotesCoding help; also used to rephrase the app description for each startup directory.CStarter Story, 4 April 2024: I Taught Myself To Code And Now Make $5K/Mo
PostizTurns the founder's weekly video into a long article for X in his own voice. ChatGPT AstraCNevo David on X, 7 September 2026: I make $2.2m ARR, and this is how I sell SaaS with ChatGPT Astra
UmaxThe founder learned to code with it and used it to write much of the app's code.CSuperhuman AI podcast, 3 September 2024: How Blake Anderson built a $6 Million app with ChatGPT, page at Podwise
DocsBot AIThe founder uses it for marketing images, writing, brainstorming and some coding. ChatGPT PlusCA public page outside the story's source list
My AskAIBoth founders use it every day for small questions, text and short pieces of code.CStarter Story, 18 June 2024, interview with Mike Heap: I Built A $300K/Year AI Business For Less $50 Bucks
Neural FramesHelped the founder write his first web application in about seven weeks; later also blog posts.CStarter Story, 16 November 2023: How A Doctorate In Physics Built An AI Video Generation Tool [$17K MRR]
Superpower ChatGPTThe host web app that the extension adds features to; the user's own ChatGPT account supplies the AI answers.since December 2022CSuperpower ChatGPT pricing page, read 14 October 2026
Rank PromptOne of six AI engines that receive the customers' prompts; the product reads each answer for brand mentions and cited sources. OpenAI; whether through the API or the app is not statedCRank Prompt home page
AI ToolboxThe first host web app that the extension adds features to; the user's own ChatGPT account supplies the AI.since September 2024CAI Toolbox Terms of Service, last updated 1 October 2026
Vidon.aiListed as a feature of the AI video generator on the homepage; the page does not say what it does in the product. named only as a feature label; provider API not statedCVidon.ai homepage, read 15 October 2026
NotisThe founder's own AI subscription for his work and coding agents. Pro planabout US$400 in one month, together with ClaudeCFlorian Pariset on X, 22 August 2026: work routed to the subscriptions customers already pay for
LanguaUsed by the co-founder for code in a copy-and-paste workflow before editor-integrated tools.replaced by CursorCA public page outside the story's source list
GenAIPIInterviewed the founder to choose the business, and researched a search-visibility firm whose methods were then installed on the site.since February 2025CThe Next New Thing newsletter, 1 May 2026: He makes $4.5 mil/year implementing AI, this is his playbook, by Andrew Warner
CodeGuideChat subscription on the monthly bill; before CodeGuide the founder wrote the planning documents in it by hand.US$20 a month (June 2025)CCJ Zafir on X, 17 June 2025: monthly bill, 11,356 users
PromptmonitorOne of the AI models that receive the customers' prompts; the product records each answer for brand mentions, position, sentiment and cited sources. OpenAI; whether through the API or the app is not statedCPromptmonitor home page, Wayback Machine copy of 8 July 2025
MakeLogo.aiHelped the founder convert API examples into code and set up file storage.CNico Jeannen's blog diary, 5 December 2022 to 11 March 2023: MakeLogo.ai, From idea to $65,000 exit in 3 months
AI PeekabooReceives the customers' tracked prompts with real-time web search; the product records the answer, the brand mentions and the cited sources. OpenAI; captured through what the company calls dedicated infrastructure, not stated as the APICAI Peekaboo help center: How we get the data (last reviewed 14 August 2026)
BrandAxisReceives the customers' tracked prompts every day; the product records mentions, rank, sentiment and cited sources from its answers. OpenAI; read by scraping the consumer interface through residential proxiesCBrandAxis documentation: Which AI models we track
PlaylistAIHosts a PlaylistAI plugin so desktop users can generate playlists inside ChatGPT conversations. PlaylistAI pluginCPlaylistAI: Playlist Generator page, published 27 September 2026, updated 19 October 2026
Jetwriter AIThe first free version sent requests through each visitor's own ChatGPT account, so the founder paid nothing for the model.Cchatgptwriter.ai home page, archived 27 December 2022
ChatPRDThe founder developed the first PRD prompt in ChatGPT before turning it into a product.since 2023CChatPRD blog, 27 November 2024: ChatPRD: The First Year (by Claire Vo)
GliglishThe founder argued with it about what to write before his Hacker News post.CFabien Snauwaert's blog, June 2023: What I learned from being #2 on Hacker News for a split second, and how I messed up
GenlookMerchants ask it how to add try-on, and it recommends Genlook first, the founder said.CFounder Trace, Lucas Flandre, 24 August 2026 (updated 26 October 2026): App Shopify d’essayage virtuel IA : étude de cas à 14 000$/mois

Grade A: the tool's maker or a payment processor confirms the use. Grade B: an independent report, or the tool is visible in public code. Grade C: the founder or the company says so.

Used in the same businesses

Other tools in the stories above, with the number of stories that share both.

Other tools for the same job

Building the product, with the number of stories that use each.

Back to all tools